Bi-Annual World Meeting

The society conducts general World Meetings on even numbered calendar years with sites alternated between European and North American locations.

The upcoming XXIII World Meeting will be held from July 10 to July 14, 2018 in Paris, France (Université of Paris Descartes).


Past Meetings

XXII — Sydney, Australia, July 19–23, 2016
President: Kaj Björkqvist (Finland)
Introductory video →

XXI — Atlanta, Georgia, July 15-19, 2014
President: John Knutson (USA)
Research briefs from the meeting have also been published.

XX — Walferdange, Luxembourg, July 17-21, 2012
President: Craig Anderson (USA)

XIX — Storrs, Connecticut (University of Connecticut), United States, July 27-31 2010
President: Deborah Richardson (USA)

XVIII — Budapest, Hungary, July 8-13, 2008
President: Menno Kruk (the Netherlands)

XVII — Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States, July 2006
President: Caroline Blanchard (USA)

XVI — Santorini, Greece, September 2004
President: John Archer (UK)

XV — Montreal, Canada (McGill University), July, 2002
President: Ed Donnerstein (USA)

XIV — Valencia, Spain (University of Valencia), July 2000
President: Jaap Koolhaus (the Netherlands)

XIII — Mahwah, New Jersey (Ramapo College), United States, July 1998
President: Rowell Huesmann (USA)

XII — Strasbourg, France (Universite Louis Pasteur), 1996
President: Dan Olweus (Norway)

XI — Delray Beach, Florida (Florida Atlantic University), 1994
President: Robert Blanchard (USA)

X — Siena, Italy (Universita Degli Studi Di Siena), 1992
President: Adam Fraczek (Poland)

IX — Banff, Alberta, Canada (University of Lethbridge), 1990
President: Leonard Eron (USA)

VIII — Swansea, Wales (University of Swansea), 1988
President: Kirsti Lagerspetz (Finland)

VII — Chicago, Illinois (University of Illinois at Chicago), 1986
President: Seymour Feshbach (USA)

VI — Turku, Finland (Abo Akademi), 1984
President: Paul Brain (UK)

V — Mexico City, 1982
President: Leonard Berkowitz (USA)

IV — Haren, the Netherlands (University of Groningen), 1980
President: Pierre Karli (France)

III — Washington, D.C. (National Academy of Sciences), 1978
President: David Hamburg (USA)

II — Paris, France, 1976
President: Anthony Barnett (Australia)

I — Toronto, Canada, 1974
President: John Paul Scott (USA)

Founding meeting—Tokyo, Japan, 1972
President: Saul Rosenzweig (USA)

Off-year meetings have also been held in Strasbourg, France (1979); Zeist, The Netherlands (1983); Parma, Italy (1985); Univ. of Seville, Spain (1987); Szombathely, Hungary (1989); and Jerusalem, Israel (1991).