In honor of Kirsti Lagerspetz, ISRA co-founder and contributor to aggression research, the Lagerspetz Awards are given at each biennial World Meeting to junior scholars who deliver either poster or podium presentations. To be eligible for a Lagerspetz Award, a presenter must be either a student in a terminal degree program or a person who is within two years of having completed a terminal degree (e.g., Ph.D., M.D., J.D.). Recipients of the award must be the first author of the paper or poster presentation. Awards are made at the end of the World Meeting. Recipients of the award will receive a certificate documenting the award and a cash honorarium.


Lagerspetz Awards Winners


  • Joanne Beames (University of New South Wales, Australia)

  • Should-An Ariel Chang (Yale University, USA)

  • Shawn Geniole (Nipissing University, Canada)

  • Samantha Gonzalez (University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA)

  • Miklos Halmos (Georgia State University, USA)

  • Sacha Maimone (Carleton University, Canada)

  • Brooke Slawinski (Michigan State University, USA)

  • Justin Vollet (University of Texas, USA)

  • Lisa Wagels (Research Center Jülich, Germany)

  • Antonella Ludmila Zapata-Calvente (University of Granada, Spain)


  • Luke Glowacki (Harvard University, USA)

  • Ruschelle Leone (Georgia State University, USA)

  • Claire Northover (Cardiff University, UK)

  • Helena Rohlf (University of Potsdam, Germany)

  • Silja Saarento (University of Turku, Finland)

  • Patrik Söderburg (Åbo Akademi University, Finland)

  • Laura Stockdale (Loyola University Chicago, USA)

  • Paulina Tomaszewska (University of Potsdam, Germany)

  • Irene Vitoroulis (University of Ottawa, Canada)

  • Rebecca Waller (University of Michigan, USA)


  • Paul Adachi (Brock University, Canada)

  • Frederike Beyer (University of Lübeck, Germany)

  • Rebecca Bondü (University of Potsdam, Germany)

  • Federica Calcagnoli (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)

  • Justin Carré (Wayne State University, USA)

  • Chi-Ching Chuang (University of Missouri-Columbia, USA)

  • Lylla D'Abreu (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)

  • Emma Fabiansson (University of New South Wales, Australia)

  • Matthew Fuxjager (University of California, USA)

  • Youssef Hasan (University of Pierre Mendes-France, France)

  • Ada Johansson (Abo Akademi University, Finland)

  • Vered Zioni Koren (Blich High School, Israel)

  • Estrella Montoya (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)

  • Anja Schultze-Krumbholz (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)


Podium Presentations

  • Jamie Abaied (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)

  • Jane Baibazarova (Cardiff University, UK)

  • Erika Baker (Cardiff University, UK)

  • Melissa Griffin (State University of New York at Buffalo, USA)

  • David Yeager (Stanford University, USA)


  • Julie Messinger (Long Island University, USA)

  • Amelie Petitclerc (University College Dublin/Universite de Montreal, Canada)

  • Jared Schwartzer (Northeastern University, USA)

  • Edward Swing (Iowa State University, USA)


  • Yu Gao (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

  • Kyle Gobrogge (Florida State University, USA)

  • Robina Khan

  • Georgia Ktistaki (Cardiff University, UK)

  • Jan Pfetch (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)

  • Marie Claude Salves (University of Western Ontario, Canada)

  • Eva Syngelaki (Cardiff University, UK)

  • Nizete-Ly Valles (University of Iowa, USA)

  • Anthony Walsh

  • Gemma Warren (University of York, UK)