# ISRA Business Meeting 24<sup>rd</sup> ISRA World Meeting Ottawa, Canada

Location: Learning Crossroads Building, University of Ottawa

Thursday July 21, 2022 from 5:00-6:00 p.m.

#### 1. Treasurer Report (Jamie)

In addition to the information presented in the Council meeting, there was some discussion of determining whether the free student memberships are coming from low and middle-income countries. Ken Dodge asked how we are investing our \$200K+? He wanted to make sure that we are not investing in "horrible things". Jamie assured Ken that this was not the case.

## 2. Report from *Aggressive Behavior* (Craig Anderson)

In addition to the information presented in the Council meeting, Craig noted that the impact factor (IF) has increased >3 but may be due to the new formula for the IF, which includes online first articles. This would be a main effect for all journals, i.e., increasing all IFs. Ken mentioned that some journals are being accused of racism. Ken said we could report participant characteristics, encourage submissions from abroad, and that we should try to do better.

#### 3. Secretary's Report (Dominic Parrott)

Jamie and Katja were recognized for their work as ISRA Bulletin Editors. The next meeting is still undecided. Brief pre-proposals will be identified and evaluated based on criteria (see Council Mtg minutes). Full proposals will then be invited.

## 4. Report on Ottawa World Meeting (Tracy)

Tracy provided an update on the Ottawa meeting and speaker series. The speaker series was a success -200+ registrants and 50% of those showed up. People applauded the ISRA speaker series. Feedback was uniformly positive.

#### 5. Election Results (see also Council Meeting minutes)

President Elect – Wayne Warburton, Australia (2 year term ending in 2024)
President – Tracy Vaillancourt, Canada (2 year term ending in 2024)
Past President – Eric Dubow, USA (2 year term ending in 2024)
Executive Secretary – Brad Bushman, USA (4 year term ending in 2026)
Treasurer – Jamie Ostrov, USA (4 year term ending in 2024)
Archivist – Tom Denson, Australia (4 year term ending in 2024)

Returning Council Members (2020-2024) are: Katja Bertsch (Germany), Rebecca Bondü (Germany), Paul Boxer (USA), Ken Dodge (USA), Cara Swit (New Zealand)

New Council Members (2022-2026) are: S. Alexandra Burt (USA), Ann Farrell (Canada), Noni Gaylord-Harden (USA), Tom Gumpel (Israel), Jane Ireland (UK), Jan Pfetsch (Germany), Kevin Runions (Australia), Patrik Söderberg (Finland).

#### 6. Additional items

Barbara noted two general issues for the membership. The first issue concerns issuing ISRA statements. ISRA members may be hesitant about issuing statements. One option was to have ISRA Presidential commissions to address specific issues (media violence – Krahe and Berkowitz); gun violence (Bushman). Statements should be evidence-based and not opinion. The current procedure is that the officers draft and approve the statement, followed by the Council. It was suggested that we, as ISRA members, should submit our statement through our media offices with the appropriate ISRA members' contact details. The second issue that Barbara raised is that we are not attracting enough people from developing nations; we have no members from Africa. Barbara has found emailing them not to be effective.