Brief History of ISRA

ISRA was founded by a small group of prominent scholars who gathered at the Prince Hotel in Tokyo, Japan, in August of 1972 in conjunction with the 20th International Congress of Psychology. Present were Robert Blanchard, Katsuzo Hayashi, Kirsti Lagerspetz, Zanvel Liff, Neal Miller, Ross Parke, Karl Pribram, Saul Rosenzweig, John Paul Scott, W.H. Thorpe, Gerald Hudgens, Irving Lazar, Jeanne Mueller, and Oleg Tikhomirow (details can be found in Aggressive Behavior, Vol. 13, 1987, p. 53-57). 

In the shadow of the Cold War, the Vietnam War, and social unrest throughout the United States, these researchers discussed how their knowledge, skills, and research efforts might be applied to the very real, personally devastating, and socially costly problems of individual and collective violence. It quickly became apparent that any serious study of aggression had to be international in scope and interdisciplinary in character.

The stated purpose of the Society is to encourage the discovery and exchange of scientific information about the causes and consequences of violence and to develop knowledge and techniques that might reduce harmful aggression. The Society is non-partisan and its activities are intended to promote human welfare through enhanced knowledge of the causes and control of aggressive behavior.